Opposite Twins

I have this friend, we’ll call her Schmoshin. She is who I consider my opposite twin. It’s a made up term and is used to describe people who are your very close friend (on a play cousin level) and who either connect with you on the exact same wavelength or are on totally opposite sides of the spectrum, depending on the topic. 

Example: Gotye’s single “Somebody That I Used To Know”. We each heard this song long ago and had our own respective opinions. She loved it and I hated it. As her interest in the song decreased, mine increased. We are currently right in the middle and will eventually completely switch opinions. 

Example #2: Relationships. I have recently ended a long-term relationship and entered single life while she has ended her term of the dating lifestyle and has found the man of her dreams. 

Example #3: People describe me as psychic (I’ll get into that later too) and I recently learned her friends describe her as prophetic. 

Example #4: I love the water and she stinks at swimming and prefers land. I am afraid of heights (it’s a motion sickness thing) and she loves to fly and explore the skies. 

All of this is to say that we happen to have incredibly parallel lives and tastes yet they are somewhat opposites. We only recently reconnected in life and have adopted the phrase “opposite twin” for one another. She is also my inspiration for moving to NYC. She found an amazing job in NYC and the timing just felt right. Move with your twin  and good friend to a new city and start a new life. Off we go!

Leave a Reply

