Have a Little Faith In Yourself

For the longest time, I was upset that no one ever told me that I could be anything I wanted to be when I grew up. I bounced from sport to sport and hobby to hobby, never really perfecting one skill-set  Even through college, I was disappointed in the lack of guidance in the post graduation work environment. It was engrained in me to do well in school, go to college, graduate, then get a job. 

So I did just that. I did very well in school. And took on leadership roles but never truly understood why I was doing these things. I played every sport on the planet but never applied them to lessons in life. I went to college (ill-prepared) then got a job (a real one. I worked countless part-time jobs in college). But I still felt lost. What was I really doing? And worse, what was that feeling in my gut that said I was still dissatisfied with this path I chose. 

Now, I’ve surrounded myself with people who truly love what they do, have a path and a plan, are highly motivated, and it’s incredibly inspiring. I too want to follow a dream, set goals, and achieve them. 

Here are a few of my latest ambitions:

-I’ve signed up for my first 5k this weekend. I hate running and I’ve never run more than 2 miles at a time. I’m not nervous but I feel like it’s a good start to push myself and set a goal and cross the finish line.

-I’m illustrating my first children’s book. A friend of mine wrote it out and I’ve edited and began drafting the first run of illustrations.

-I’m setting up an Etsy store to sell jewelry I make.

-I’m learning WordPress and Illustrator. 

-I’m getting my finances in order. I’m refinancing student loans and saving up to live overseas for at least one year and take a career break. 

Living in NYC has also made me realize how ambitious folks are. There is this feeling of being subpar because those around you are all published, have been to grad school, or ran a freaking Ironman. How can I compare?

The lesson is: I can do anything. If I put my mind to it, I truly can. I don’t need anyone to tell me that (although I’m lucky I do have lots of support). If I don’t believe in myself first, no one else will. 

Off I go. I’m gonna give it my best shot.

6 Comments

  1. That’s awesome, Cat. That’s pretty much what I’ve been going through as well. It’s good to know that I’m not alone in feeling a little lost, and also inspired to do something about it. Good luck up there, I’ll be crashing on your couch soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

