Gifts From the Sea

I rarely write about a book. I’m not a fan of writing reviews, although I often form an opinion on things. But this book must be shared. 

It’s called Gifts From the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. I’m reading the 50th anniversary edition from Brooklyn Public Library. I read it any free moment I get. It’s short and reads quickly which I love because I am the world’s slowest reader.

Lindbergh wrote this book many years ago but the lessons still hold true today and I love how deep and thought provoking her visit to the beach was that allowed her to write a timeless book. She uses the metaphor of seashells as stages in life and stages of relationships with yourself and with others. It really spoke to me for two reasons:

1. I’m interested in improving as a person and fascinated with how to form better, more meaningful relationships with others.

2. I love the sea. I’m going to move back to the beach this year and can really appreciate the picture she paints of the beach. It’s truly a magical place. 

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote thus far from the book:

A good relationship has a pattern like a dance and is built on some of the same rules. The partners do not need to hold on tightly, because they move confidently in the same pattern, intricate but gay and swift and free, like a country dance of Mozart’s. To touch heavily would be to arrest the pattern and freeze the movement, to check the endlessly changing beauty of its unfolding. There is no place here for the possessive clutch, the clinging arm, the heavy hand; only the barest touch in passing. Now arm in arm, now face to face, now back to back – it does not matter which. Because they know they are partners moving to the same rhythm, creating a pattern together, and being invisibly nourished by it. 

Leave a Reply

