Opera

Attending an opera has never been on my list of things to do before I die (see earlier Bucket List post). But I had the opportunity via free tickets to go see the premiere of Guilio Cesare at The Metropolitan Opera last night. It’s probably the fanciest I’ve ever felt in my life.

Let me start by saying operas are completely out of my comfort zone. I cringe when people break out into song during tv episodes or musicals. I also find it difficult to sit still for long periods of time. On top of it all, I’m not a girly girl who dresses up much. I probably own two dresses and two pair of high heels. I watch baseball with my cap on backwards and I am very fond of beer. But this was an experience I couldn’t pass up.

I dawned my prettiest dress and shoes and hit the town. A fancy Uber vehicle picked me up from work and I enjoyed the sights of the town via a Chrysler 300 moon roof. It was a lovely evening and met my date at the fountain of Lincoln Center. The grounds of Lincoln Center are pretty darn cool. Ballet, Philharmonic, and Metropolitan Opera all in one place. Very snazzy. 

We went inside and I had no idea what to expect. People in capes and sparkly dresses greeted us and I could not keep my eyes off the prettiest chandeliers I’d ever seen. The carpet was so lush that I fought the urge to take off my heels and walk barefoot amongst the fancy folks. We went to our seats (which by the way are covered in super soft red velvet) on the orchestra level and started the subtitles on the seats in front of us as our guide. 

I was completely thrown off by the sing-songing. I found myself wondering why the singers were repeating themselves all time, what’s with the dramatic moves and gestures (almost choreographed at times), and why were people laughing during a performance? I thought this was serious business. Either way, I was intrigued up until the end of Act I. During intermission, we walked around the MET a bit and enjoyed some chocolate and champagne. Again, my eyes were fixed on the chandeliers and nothing else. 

Long story short, we made it through Act II and headed home. I had a great time and so glad I got to experience something completely out of my comfort zone. Adding it and quickly checking it off my list now.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

