(un)Conventional Love

Love is different for everyone. The word itself can be used in so many different ways. In my opinion, it’s transformed into a whole new word and has lost it’s original meaning. People claim to love a song on the radio, to love a book they read, or to love a dish served at their favorite restaurant. But do you really love it? Is that really love?

I do it too. I abuse the word and claim to love things that bring me lots of happiness. I love swimming in the ocean, buying and reading books, playing with dogs, and I love me some Google. But I also have caring, loving feelings for people in my life that I wouldn’t compare to inanimate objects. That’s a different kind of love in my opinion: an unconventional love.

When you don’t bombard those relationships with terms and labels, something brand new forms. Something deeper, more meaningful, and more relaxed. There’s less pressure to prove your love, to make sense of your feelings, and to define your relationship to others. 

About a year ago, I met someone atop the Seattle Space Needle. He’s something special. Our story is like one out of a rom-com. I’ve taken my time introducing him to my online community for fear of giving up my privacy. The fact of the matter is, he is a big part of my life now and I feel like it’s worth sharing now. In fact, I want to shout it from the rooftops that I’ve met someone who is really special to me and that I love.

World, meet Isaac.Image

(photo from May 19, 2012)

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

