Last Week in New York

I have since moved away from NYC. It didn’t really hit me until I got to my mom’s house late Sunday evening (three days ago). Then it all came crashing down like a monsoon. I couldn’t believe what had just happened. I just spent 10 amazing months in NYC and like a whirlwind, it was over. I was back in Atlanta about to embark on another journey.

My last week in Brooklyn went super fast. But it was very much reflective of the entire time I spent there. And by that I mean it was a roller coaster of emotions. I was sad, excited, nervous, anxious, and incredibly overwhelmed. All week I was preparing for my departure. I purged most of my clothes and furniture, packed, and said my goodbyes. I didn’t quite get to check too many other things off my NYC Bucket List but I was happy that I got to spend some quality time with people I really love.

The goodbyes were the hardest. Saying goodbye to a workplace I really, truly enjoyed and people who became like a second family to me was rough. Saying goodbye to my boyfriend who I’ll see in September was still really tough because we had gotten so close over the course of our last month together. The worst was saying goodbye to my best friend and the reason I moved to New York to begin with. 

She and I spent my last 24 hours in bliss, reminiscing about our time together and taking “trips” down memory lane. I caught a cab to LaGuardia at 4am and went on my own way. 

Now I’m in Atlanta for a little over a week to visit with family and friends. More goodbyes but more enjoyable moments in a place I called home most of my life. Then it’s off to Portland, Oregon. I’m really looking forward to that part. Summers in Portland are the best. 

Currently, I’m trying to come up with things I can take with me that will remind me of home and that I can’t get in New Zealand. Recommendations welcomed.

Leave a Reply

