Small Wins

Now that I’m not working a 9-5 full-time job, I’m learning a lot about self discipline and planning. I often find myself getting overwhelmed with a laundry list of things to do and my dwindling bank account gets my mind racing. With this constant spiral, I had to think of a way to ease my mind and get a quick pick-me-up. I decided that no matter how small the accomplishment, I was going to celebrate it.

Not only do I cross the item off my list (think big black marker), I find the nearest person (usually my brother these days) to high-five and celebrate. What I’ve found is that those little things begin to add up and by the end of the day, I feel like I’ve accomplished so much. I also find myself crossing the smaller things off my list sooner than the larger items.

Yesterday, I opened my Etsy shop. Technically, it opened earlier this year but I never listed items until yesterday. I was putting it off for the longest time for various reasons. Maybe I thought the process was arduous. Most likely it was the common fear I have that if I’m not going to do something with 100% awesomeness, I avoid it all together instead of just taking a risk. Either way, I jumped in yesterday (the goods won’t sell themselves) and listed my first item. I looked around and when no one was around to celebrate, I felt sad. So I kept going… Next item, then another. Next thing I knew, most of my inventory was listed and I was ready to share my store with others. It felt so good. I may not have a full-scale business on my hands but I did it. I made some items, posted them online, and made my first sale. WIN!

2 Comments

  1. that is so awesome! virtual high five!! where’s your etsy store? i made one but never listed anything … 😛 still on my to-do list. also i read this book called power of less. it helped me simplify my to-do list and make it less daunting by creating your three most important tasks for the day.. and everything else is just icing on the cake. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

