NaNoWriMo Yo

I never wanted to be one of those people that began a blog post with an apology for not writing in awhile. So I won’t. Instead I will jump straight to the excuses: I’ve been disconnected from the internet for a few days (beach post coming soon). Oh, and I’m writing a novel. 

I am participating in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month = November) and it’s pretty much consumed all of my writing energy. Although it’s not my first attempt at a novel, it is the first I’m determined to finish. 50,000 words in 30 days feels totally doable and I’m pretty darn confident in completing the task. It’s not the novel I’ve been dying to write but it’s great practice. And I’m enjoying the challenge of making the time everyday to write and see where the story goes. 

I’m finding myself reaching for a pen and paper often when ideas spring up. I’m trying desperately to just write the story first and rewrite and/or edit later. I’ve also tried writing at different times of the day (2am, 9am, 3pm, you name it) and nothing seems to stick. I never know when inspiration will arrive so I’m forever prepared. I make notes on anything I can find (grocery receipts, email drafts to myself, my proper writing notebook, postcards) and I’m proud to say I’ve written something everyday this month. Even if it’s just a few hundred words, I make sure to put it down. 

It’s a story about a thirty-something female who decides to start life anew New Year’s Eve 2013 and none of the characters are based on my life. I think they call this chick-lit. I hate that word and the genre sounds very anti-Catarina but I’m writing it anyway. The real story I want to write will come soon enough. In addition, I’ve tasked myself with two more children’s stories and one cookbook by end of January. That along with a sprinkling of blog posts has glued me to my laptop when I’m not enjoying my adventures in New Zealand. 

A lot of people have asked if I’m going to try to get published. My answer is always that it was never the point of this challenge. Sure, getting published would be amazing. But that’s only half the battle. I’d like to get a good story down and see the process through to completion. And like I said, it’s not the story I’ve been dying to write. I’ll get to that one when I’m good and ready. Until then, I’ll be at my laptop writing if you need me. 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

