We’re All In Sales

What I love most about what I do is selling something with so many words. I enjoy using the English language to explain, teach, promote, or inform. Storytelling can transform something an audience never thought possible. Painting a picture with words and leaving the reader with something to think about, that’s a talent not many possess (Here I am, selling myself).

Sell, sell, sell. We do it everyday. Regardless of what industry you work in, you’re selling something. Even the unemployed are selling their skills and talents to potential employers. If people trust you, they look to you for recommendations on what to buy. In the last week alone, I’ve sold a smartphone and a laptop just by explaining the benefits of one product over another. And I will never see a check from the manufacturer. But selling is second nature to me now.

I’m not into the buy-now-pay-later sales. I’m talking about captivating a reader with a particular voice, tone, and identity that no one else has. Steve Jobs knows. He said, “People don’t know what they want until you show it to them”. In my case, they don’t know what they want until you write it out for them. Hopefully sales doesn’t put a nasty taste in your mouth. It should feel like a nasty taste was never there to begin with.

Pick up a coffee now, because it’s not just for closers, despite what Alec Baldwin tells you.

Leave a Reply

