Type

I’ve long been a fan of pen pals. I enjoy handwritten letters and getting things in the mail besides bills and junk. I recently cleaned up the typewriter of my youth. If you want a letter mailed to you, holler at me. I’m open to writing you something with it.

I went to a shop today called Progressive Methods in Decatur, GA. They pride themselves in owning the domain typerwriters.com. They were the first IBM retailer in Atlanta and have been in business since 1958. A lovely lady by the name of Cheryl helped me put a new ribbon on my Olivetti Underwood Lettera 32. She was so pleased to see I had a vintage typewriter and asked the story behind it. Well, she first assumed I was a hipster and bought it recently. I told her that my lovely mother kept it for me all these years and it’s the typewriter I grew up with. As a writer, it really means a lot to still have it in my life, especially in the condition it is. It even still has the little travel case with it. Not that it’s a lightweight machine but it’s fun to have.

Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 4.00.13 PM

I have a lot of re-learning to do when it comes to the old machine (like where the hell is my #1 key?) but I’m eager to write more on it. If I can squeeze it in my luggage– all the better.

Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 4.00.32 PM

Leave a Reply

