What Takes Courage?

I’ve recently thought a lot about this topic: What takes courage to do? Well, a lot of things. I’ve been called courageous but I never quite thought of myself that way. I’ve always considered what I did as an understanding of what I wanted and what I needed to do to go out and get it. In the meantime, I’ve realized it does take a lot of something to do what you want, to seek opportunities you dream about, and to follow your heart. It’s risky, scary, and some would say crazy.

If you are like me, you don’t think of yourself as courageous. You simply do what it takes. However, I think there is something to be said about giving yourself some credit when it comes to life’s big decisions and moves. I’m always surprised when people say that they’ve recently changed jobs, gotten married, moved homes, or had a baby in a year. Wow! That’s an incredibly different year than the year before. Can you imagine experiencing that in the course of a year? We often do it without thinking twice. It’s what we must do and it just gets done.

Nothing goes without the support of friends and family, but at the end of the day, these are your decisions to make. And they are never easy. This is the time of year when a lot of reflection happens. You look back at the year gone by and recall what actually happened and where the year went. Now is the time to give yourself some credit. Even something as simple as getting a haircut or finishing a book can be a step in the right direction and you deserve credit for it. And if you’ve done any of those big life changes, give yourself a hug. That took courage to do. You probably set an example for others and don’t even know it.

I’ve moved countless times this year. It didn’t go without a lot of debate and finding comfort in the unknowns of life: Where’s the next check coming from? When will I hear back from someone? Where will I be in a month? How am I going to make this work? But every time, I knew what the end goal was and I made sure that each action led to that bigger goal of mine. It’s scary sometimes but I’ve convinced my mind to turn nervousness into excitement and enjoy the moments I have right in front of me. I have more confidence to do bigger and better things next year. And I have the courage to stand behind my decisions. I think everyone has it in them.

Leave a Reply

