Compassion

I recently saw the movie Gardening with Soul. It was such a sweet story about Sister Loyola at the House of Compassion in Island Bay. The movie focused on her gardening and relationship with Christ. I was so moved by the movie and story that I felt the need to blog about it. The lessons in the movie really touched me and are good reminders.

I’ve always thought of myself as a compassionate individual. Nowhere near as compassionate as some of the nuns in the movies who dedicate their life to a cause. But a big goal of mine earlier this year was to do more things with compassion and love. And I realize how much happier it’s made me.

Being compassionate means you are less focused on your selfish ego and needs. You exude a sense of love that others are attracted and drawn to. And best of all, those close to you know they are loved. No one wants to die alone and no one wants to leave someone without telling them they were loved. So practicing more love and compassion is something I’m trying to do more of. 

Sister Loyola also said something that really stuck with me. She said, “If I’ve failed at love, I’ve failed at life.” I think I feel exactly the same way. I have these romantic, complicated, and sometimes misconstrued ideas of love and relationships but the truth is, it’s simple. If I just do more things out of love rather than fear or out of love rather than hate, I will succeed. And my life will be better, happier, and more fulfilling.

That goes for relationships, work, everything. I should work to help others and be more loving and compassionate to others in need. I should tell my loved ones they are loved and just be kind and caring. Not because I expect something in return, but just because it’s the nice thing to do.

Thank you for reading.

5 Comments

  1. i’m gonna try to check that out. i just recently read a mother teresa bio and made me realize what made her such an amazing individual. people tend to look at all the grand things she’s done in her lifetime, but it’s really amazing all the small sacrifices she made everyday. i guess it’s the same with us and the little choices we make everyday. do we ultimately end up choosing to love ourselves first or to love others?

    Reply

Leave a comment